The majority voted against amendments introduced by Tasmanian Senator Peter Whish-Wilson (Greens), which means they failed.

Amendments text

(1) Clause 2, page 2 (at the end of the table), add:

5. Schedule 9 1 July 2020.

[retail funds]

(2) Page 52 (after line 3), at the end of the Bill, add:

Schedule 9—Amendments commencing on 1 July 2020

Superannuation Guarantee (Administration) Act 1992

1 At the end of subsection 32C(2)


; and (f) the trustee of the fund is not any of the following:

(i) an ADI within the meaning of the Banking Act 1959;

(ii) a related body corporate (within the meaning of that Act) of such an ADI;

(iii) a subsidiary (within the meaning of that Act) of such an ADI;

(iv) an associate (within the meaning of the Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Act 1993) of such an ADI.

Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Act 1993

2 Subsection 29S(1)

After "RSE licensee", insert "(other than an ineligible licensee)".

3 At the end of section 29S


Ineligible licensee

(8) In this section:

ineligible licensee means an RSE licensee that is:

(a) an ADI within the meaning of the Banking Act 1959; or

(b) a related body corporate (within the meaning of that Act) of such an ADI; or

(c) a subsidiary (within the meaning of that Act) of such an ADI; or

(d) an associate of such an ADI.

[retail funds]

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 0 Yes 17 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Kristina Keneally NSW No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
David Smith ACT No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Penny Wong SA No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Chris Ketter Queensland Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Stirling Griff SA No
Rex Patrick SA No
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent No
Tim Storer SA Independent No
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (73% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Slade Brockman WA No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Lucy Gichuhi SA No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
John Williams NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Peter Georgiou WA Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party No
Totals (75% turnout) 10 Yes – 46 No