The majority voted against a motion introduced by NSW Senator David Leyonhjelm (Liberal Democratic Party), which means it failed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes:

(i) recent violent crimes against numerous women,

(ii) that blame for these crimes rests with the perpetrators, not the victims,

(iii) that, despite all policy efforts and wishful thinking, there will always be some individual men in our community intent on violence against women,

(iv) that the first duty of government is to protect citizens from harm, but police cannot be everywhere at all times, so citizens must be allowed, if they choose, to deter and defend against attacks,

(v) that the innate ability of individuals to deter and defend against attacks varies, with women and the elderly generally more vulnerable,

(vi) that pepper spray can assist deterrence and self-defence, particularly for the vulnerable,

(vii) that the use of pepper spray is generally non-lethal and does not require prior training,

(viii) that pepper spray is unlikely to be used for criminal attacks, and

(ix) that, in most other countries, pepper sprays are not even regulated, let alone prohibited; and

(b) calls on the Australian Government to legalise the importation of pepper spray, subject to the state governments legalising the carrying of pepper spray, to deter and defend against attacks.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Absent
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (56% turnout) 0 Yes 14 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Kristina Keneally NSW No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Louise Pratt WA No
David Smith ACT No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Stirling Griff SA No
Rex Patrick SA No
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent Yes
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent No
Tim Storer SA Independent No
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (64% turnout) 0 Yes 14 No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Slade Brockman WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
John Williams NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Peter Georgiou WA No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Yes
Totals (65% turnout) 4 Yes – 45 No