The majority voted against a motion introduced by Greens Senator Rachel Siewert (WA) at the request of Greens Senator Richard Di Natale (Vic).

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes:

(i) that according to the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, over 10% of the population have used ecstasy and 9% have used cocaine at least once in their lives – in the past 12 months, 2.2% of Australians have used ecstasy and 2.5% have used cocaine,

(ii) that research and evaluations of international pill testing initiatives demonstrates that pill testing services:

(A) link people with health services,

(B) give health services critical information about what has been consumed, and

(C) give people more information about what is in the pills that they are taking than they otherwise have access to,

(iii) the need for all parties and independent members of the Australian Parliament to join with the Australian Greens to support a comprehensive and realistic plan to implement pill testing, both at festivals and in the community, and

(iv) that the skills and expertise exist within the Australian medical and drug and alcohol communities to deliver pill testing services; and

(b) calls on the Federal Government to:

(i) develop and implement a pill testing policy before the summer festival season,

(ii) work with community groups and the Australian Capital Territory Government to implement existing models which demonstrably have worked and helped save lives, and

(iii) if the above action is not taken, to explain to the loved ones of people who have died or been injured their justification for not following the evidence and protecting people.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (56% turnout) 0 Yes 14 No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Kristina Keneally NSW No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Louise Pratt WA No
David Smith ACT No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent No
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent Absent
Tim Storer SA Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (57% turnout) 0 Yes 13 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Slade Brockman WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Jim Molan NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Peter Georgiou WA No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party No
Totals (64% turnout) 12 Yes – 37 No