The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced at the request of Labor Senator Doug Cameron (NSW) and Greens Senator Rachel Siewert (WA).

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that the Government has claimed public interest immunity in response to the order of the Senate of 14 November 2018 for the production of a document, namely, the independent review by KPMG of the Serco pilot program, which saw an additional 250 staff engaged to answer phone calls at Centrelink through Serco;

(b) further notes that, despite this claim of public interest immunity, significant portions of the final report have been referred to in the media, including:

(i) by the Minister for Human Services and Digital Transformation, Mr Keenan, in an opinion piece published by The Courier Mail on 30 October 2018 entitled, 'Adding 2750 staff will improve Centrelink waiting times, says Minister',

(ii) in an article entitled, 'Time to dole out the facts', published by The Courier Mail on 30 October 2018, in which the Minister is quoted referencing the findings of the report,

(iii) in an news item entitled, 'Hundreds of Centrelink call centre jobs are set to be privatised', by Channel Seven on 30 October 2018,

(iv) in a report on the Channel Nine Today Show on 30 October 2018, and

(v) in an article entitled, 'Coalition defends Centrelink contractors', published by the Canberra Times on 31 October 2018 in which the Minister is quoted referencing the findings of the report;

(c) in light of the publication of significant portions of the document, including by the Minister for Human Services and Digital Transformation, is of the view that there can be no legitimate claim that the public interest is served by withholding the document; and

(d) insists that there be laid on the table by the Minister representing the Minister for Human Services and Digital Transformation, by no later than 9 am on 5 December 2018, the independent review by KPMG of the Serco pilot program.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 17 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
David Smith ACT Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Claire Moore Queensland Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Tim Storer SA Independent Yes
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent Absent
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (65% turnout) 0 Yes 15 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Jim Molan NSW No
Marise Payne NSW No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Peter Georgiou WA Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Absent
Totals (70% turnout) 30 Yes – 23 No