The majority voted against a motion introduced by Liberal National Party Senator James McGrath (Qld), which means it failed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes:

(i) Lady Phyllis Cilento's long and dedicated career as an obstetrician, paediatrician, author, columnist, ABC broadcaster and women's activist,

(ii) her lifelong passion for women and children's health,

(iii) her pioneering work around mother and child care and nutrition, and

(iv) the Queensland Labor Government's shameful decision to rename the Lady Cilento Children's Hospital;

(b) further notes:

(i) 32% of Emergency Department patients at the Lady Cilento Children's Hospital are not seen on time,

(ii) 12% of ambulance patients are ramped at the Lady Cilento Children's Hospital for more than 30 minutes, meaning ambulances are tied up and cannot attend emergency calls during this time,

(iii) 17% of elective surgeries at the Lady Cilento Children's Hospital are not done on time, with a median wait time of 68 days – almost double the state-wide average, and

(iv) the cost to taxpayers of the politically-motivated decision to rename the Lady Cilento Children's Hospital is expected to be at least $500,000;

(c) condemns:

(i) the Queensland Labor Government's failed consultation process, noting that the State Labor Government deregistered the name Lady Cilento Children's Hospital six months before it flagged any intention to change the hospital's name,

(ii) the Queensland Labor Government's use of an online survey to justify a decision made six months previously, and

(iii) the decision by the Queensland Labor Government to subsequently rort the survey responses, with nearly 18,000 'Yes' votes coming from the same 74 IP addresses; and

(d) calls on the Queensland Labor Government to halt its shameful campaign against Lady Cilento's good name, keep the name Lady Cilento Children's Hospital, and to instead spend taxpayer funds on fixing hospital wait times and improving the quality of care at the Lady Cilento Children's Hospital.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 0 Yes 17 No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
David Smith ACT No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (0.0% turnout) Absent
Stirling Griff SA Absent
Rex Patrick SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent Yes
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent Yes
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent Absent
Tim Storer SA Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (70% turnout) 16 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
David Bushby Tasmania Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
Jim Molan NSW Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Amanda Stoker Queensland Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (33% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
John Williams NSW Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Peter Georgiou WA Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President Yes
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Absent
Totals (68% turnout) 24 Yes – 28 No