The majority voted against a motion introduced by Queensland Senator Barry O'Sullivan (Nationals), which means it failed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) multiple Australian Islamic terrorists, including the Bourke Street terrorist, ISIS suicide bombers and would-be domestic terrorists, have links to the Hume Islamic Youth Centre,

(ii) ABC's 4 Corners journalist and executive producer, Ms Sally Neighbour, writing for The Australian in 2006, stated that Hume Islamic Youth Centre Emir Mohammed Omran is a leader of "...the fundamentalist Ahlus Sunnah Wal Jamaah Association – now regarded as the most radical Islamic group in Australia",

(iii) in the 2006 article, which reported on a meeting between Sheik Mohammed Omran and Abu Bakar Bashir, head of the terrorist group Jemaah Islamiah, which was responsible for the 2002 Bali bombings, Ms Neighbour describes Sheik Omran as "...well-connected in international Salafist circles. A Jordanian-born migrant to Australia, his friends included the British-based al-Qa'ida luminary Abu Qatada, whom Omran hosted in Australia in 1994. Interviews with Osama bin Laden and Abu Qatada were among the items featured in the online magazine Nida'ul Islam (Call to Islam), published by Omran's acolytes in the Islamic Youth Movement and read widely in Australia",

(iv) despite repeated cases of radicalised lslamists attending the Hume Islamic Youth Centre, Sheik Omran this week criticised calls for imams to increase actions to combat extremism – with counterclaims that his greatest power was only to call Triple O when confronted with a threat – and instead accused Australia's police and security agencies of complacency over the movements of the Bourke Street Islamic terrorist, and

(v) Sheik Omran, who is regarded as arguably Australia's most senior Salafist cleric, would face significant punishment and hardship if he was to make comparable criticism of Jordanian security agencies, where it is a criminal offence to criticise the king and government officials; and

(b) calls on the Senate to:

(i) condemn radical Islam, whether in speech or deed,

(ii) call on the Islamic community in Australia to continue to condemn radical Islam in speech and deed, and reaffirm its commitment to working alongside Australian security agencies to address radicalisation in all its forms, and

(iii) call on Sheik Mohammed Omran to publically retract his criticism of police and intelligence services and denounce all radical Islamic speech and jihadism.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Absent
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 0 Yes 17 No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Kristina Keneally NSW No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
David Smith ACT No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Stirling Griff SA No
Rex Patrick SA No
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent Yes
Tim Storer SA Independent No
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (61% turnout) 14 Yes 0 No
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
David Bushby Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
Jim Molan NSW Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Peter Georgiou WA Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Absent
Totals (71% turnout) 26 Yes – 28 No