The majority voted against a motion introduced by One Nation Senator Peter Georgiou also on behalf of Senators Leyonhjelm, Hanson and Bernardi.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) acknowledges that:

(i) smoking is the largest preventable cause of death in Australia,

(ii) successive Commonwealth Governments have used increased excise levels as the primary mechanism to deter smokers from maintaining their habit,

(iii) there is growing evidence that vaping has helped many smokers to quit, and

(iv) a growing number of countries, including the United Kingdom, Canada and New Zealand have already legalised vaping;

(b) notes that:

(i) a recent Australian Institute of Health and Welfare survey found that, despite the Government's policy to reduce smoking rates, the national smoking rate had, in fact, not declined in the period 2013-16,

(ii) last month, the CSIRO released a study confirming e-cigarettes assisted smokers in quitting,

(iii) a poll conducted by the Australian Retailers Association showed 61% of Australians support the legalisation of vaping and e-cigarettes, and

(iv) despite the above, under current Australian law, it is illegal to purchase, possess or use liquid nicotine for vaping without a prescription from a registered Australian medical practitioner; and

(c) calls on the Federal Government to immediately introduce legislation to legalise the sale, possession and use of liquid nicotine without restriction.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (60% turnout) 0 Yes 15 No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Kristina Keneally NSW No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Chris Ketter Queensland Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Claire Moore Queensland Absent
David Smith ACT Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Stirling Griff SA No
Rex Patrick SA No
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent Absent
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent Absent
Tim Storer SA Independent Absent
Fraser Anning Queensland Katter's Australian Party Yes
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 1 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
Liberal Party (43% turnout) 0 Yes 10 No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Jim Molan NSW No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
National Party (33% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
John Williams NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Peter Georgiou WA Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Absent
Totals (61% turnout) 8 Yes – 38 No