The majority voted against amendments (1) to (4) on sheet 8524, which were introduced by Centre Alliance.

Amendment text

(1) Clause 4, page 3 (after line 14), after the definition of accountable authority, insert:

Agreement means the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership, done at Santiago, Chile on 8 March 2018, as amended and in force for Australia from time to time.

Note 1: The Agreement could in 2018 be viewed in the Australian Treaties Library on the AustLII website (

Note 2: Under Article 1 of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (the Santiago Agreement), most of the provisions of the Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (the Auckland Agreement), done at Auckland on 4 February 2016, are incorporated, by reference, into and made part of the Santiago Agreement. This means, for example, that Chapters 1 and 3 of the Auckland Agreement are, because of that Article, Chapters 1 and 3 of the Santiago Agreement.

(2) Clause 4, page 4 (after line 2), after the definition of official, insert:

Party has the meaning given by Article 1of Chapter 1 of the Agreement.

(3) Clause 21, page 16 (after line 16), at the end of the clause, add:

This Act ceases to have effect on 1 January 2020 unless certain bilateral side letters to the Agreement are exchanged and come into force for Australia before that day.

(4) Page 17 (after line 17), at the end of Part 5, add:

26 Cessation of effect of Act

7 This Act ceases to have effect on 1 January 2020 unless all of the following come into force for Australia before that day:

(a) bilateral side letters exchanged between Australia and each other Party agreeing that Chapter 9 of the Agreement, which deals with investor-State disputes, does not apply in relation to an investment in Australia by an investor of the other Party;

(b) bilateral side letters exchanged between Australia and each other Party agreeing that labour market testing must occur in relation to contractual service suppliers entering, or proposing to enter, Australia from the other Party.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (64% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
David Smith ACT No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Penny Wong SA No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Chris Ketter Queensland Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Tim Storer SA Independent Yes
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent Absent
Fraser Anning Queensland Katter's Australian Party Yes
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (74% turnout) 0 Yes 17 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Slade Brockman WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Lucy Gichuhi SA No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (33% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
John Williams NSW No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Peter Georgiou WA Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party No
Totals (74% turnout) 14 Yes – 42 No