The majority voted against a motion moved by Labor Senator Kim Carr, which means it failed. It would have amended the usual second reading motion, which is that the majority agree with the main idea of the bill (or, in parliamentary jargon, that they agree to read the bills a second time).

Motion text

At the end of the motion, add:

", but the Senate:

(a) acknowledges that this preferential trade agreement cannot be amended by these bills, only accepted or rejected;

(b) is of the opinion that:

(i) the way Australia negotiates trade agreements of this type needs to change,

(ii) the role of Parliament in trade negotiations should be strengthened by increased oversight of trade negotiations by the Joint Standing Committee on Treaties, including providing the committee with:

(A) the government's statement of objectives for negotiation for consideration and feedback, and

(B) regular briefings at the conclusions of each round of negotiations; and

(3) calls on the Australian government to:

(i) seek to remove Investor State Dispute Settlement (ISDS) mechanisms and reinstate labour-market testing for contractual service suppliers in existing trade agreements,

(ii) ensure that future governments are prevented, by legislation, from including ISDS mechanisms or waiving labour-market testing in future trade agreements,

(iii) establish an accredited trade advisers program to allow industry, unions and civil society groups to provide real-time feedback on draft trade agreements during negotiations,

(iv) subject all new trade agreements to an independent national interest assessment to examine economic, strategic and social impacts before they are signed,

(v) enforce mandatory skills testing in the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) and all future trade agreements, and

(vi) fix the problems in the existing skills testing regime by ensuring that the skills of foreign workers are tested by qualified professionals and required to meet current Australian standards and not by immigration officials."

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Mehreen Faruqi NSW No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (60% turnout) 15 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
David Smith ACT Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
Tim Storer SA Independent No
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent Absent
Fraser Anning Queensland Katter's Australian Party Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (70% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Slade Brockman WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Jim Molan NSW No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
James Paterson Victoria Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (150% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Brian Burston NSW No
Peter Georgiou WA No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Absent
Totals (74% turnout) 18 Yes – 38 No