The majority voted in favour of a motion "to ensure the Bureau of Meteorology abandons its plans to centralise forecasting services, and maintain the current levels of jobs, expertise and forecasting services in regional areas". Motions like these don't have any legal force but are politically influential as they represent the will of the Senate.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes:

(i) that the Bureau of Meteorology intends to replace regional weather forecasting teams with a more centralised and automated model operating out of Melbourne and Brisbane,

(ii) that with a changing climate and more frequent extreme weather events, Australian regions need accurate localised weather forecasting services now more than ever before,

(iii) that this loss of localised weather forecasting and expertise will affect and concern many sectors, including emergency services, agriculture, fisheries and shipping,

(iv) for Tasmania, the Community and Public Sector Union (CPSU) has estimated this move will affect 15 to 20 specialist weather forecasting jobs,

(v) that Tasmania's local weather forecasters have provided critical local knowledge to Tasmanian residents, businesses and emergency services during extreme weather events, such as the Hobart floods and Dunalley bushfires,

(vi) the United Firefighters Union Tasmania has stated it is "absolutely crucial to have local knowledge" during reduction burns and high fire danger periods, and

(vii) the CPSU Tasmanian union, which represents parks and forestry firefighters and the State Emergency Service, has stated it is "stupid and short-sighted" to separate forecasters from crews on the ground; and

(b) calls on the Federal Government to ensure the Bureau of Meteorology abandons its plans to centralise forecasting services, and maintain the current levels of jobs, expertise and forecasting services in regional areas.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
David Smith ACT Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Tim Storer SA Independent Yes
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent Absent
Fraser Anning Queensland Katter's Australian Party Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Absent
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Slade Brockman WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
John Williams NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0.0% turnout) Absent
Peter Georgiou WA Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Absent
Totals (75% turnout) 32 Yes – 25 No