The majority voted against a motion introduced by Greens Senator Janet Rice, which means it failed. The motion would have added the words below to the usual second reading motion "that the bill be read a second time" (meaning "that the main idea of the bill be agreed to").

Motion text

At the end of the motion, add ", but the Senate calls on the government to develop and implement better consultation and community engagement standards for federally leased airports, to mitigate the impact of air noise on communities under major flight paths."

What is the bill's main idea?

According to the bills digest:

The purpose of the Airports Amendment Bill 2016 (the Bill) is to amend the Airports Act 1996 (Cth) to adjust processes relating to the preparation of master plans and major development plans for federally‑leased airports, including to:

  • enable most federal airports (other than the major airports at Brisbane, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney) to submit new master plans every eight years instead of every five years
  • ensure that a new Australian Noise Exposure Forecast (ANEF) is required in each new master plan
  • increase the threshold that triggers the requirement for an airport major development plan from $20 million to $35 million and allow the threshold to be increased in the future via a legislative instrument and
  • amend certain other processes relating to major development plans, such as imposing a new 15-day timeframe within which the Minister must consider applications for shorter consultation periods for major development plans.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (48% turnout) 0 Yes 12 No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Kristina Keneally NSW No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
David Smith ACT No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Stirling Griff SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Tim Storer SA Independent Yes
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent No
Fraser Anning Queensland Katter's Australian Party No
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (52% turnout) 0 Yes 12 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Slade Brockman WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Dean Smith WA No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
National Party (33% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
John Williams NSW No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Peter Georgiou WA Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Absent
Totals (61% turnout) 11 Yes – 35 No