The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by SA Senator Rex Patrick (Centre Alliance), which means it was successful.

Motion text


(a) the Senate notes that:

(i) since 2013, the Department of Human Services (the Department) has had a program underway to upgrade its child support system ('Cuba')—the approved budget was $102 million,

(ii) during the 2015-16 financial year, the total budget was exhausted without the project being completed,

(iii) since the 2015-16 financial year, funding to complete the system has come from the Department's internal investment fund and ICT BAU budget,

(iv) in response to questions taken on notice during the inquiry of the Finance and Public Administration References Committee into digital delivery of government services, the Department advised that it was unable to determine how much had been spent on the project,

(v) in response to questions asked at Budget estimates, the Department could provide no indication of the total spend on the project or provide a target completion date, and

(vi) in response to a freedom of information request—Department Reference LEX 37339—the Department indicated there are 49 documents in existence that fit within the description of 'final versions of all formal executive briefings submitted to the Secretary, Department of Human Services between 1 July 2017 and 30 June 2018, where the topic of one or all of the executive briefings cover the cost, resource allocation and/or progress of the Child Support System redesign Programme'; and

(b) there be laid on the table by the Minister representing the Minister for Human Services, by no later than 10 am on 10 September 2018, the 49 documents identified by the Department in FOI Department Reference LEX 37339.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Mehreen Faruqi NSW Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (96% turnout) 24 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
David Smith ACT Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Tim Storer SA Independent Yes
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent No
Fraser Anning Queensland Katter's Australian Party Yes
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Peter Georgiou WA Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Absent
Totals (88% turnout) 39 Yes – 28 No