The majority voted in favour of a motion, which means it succeeded. Motions like these don't have legal force but can be politically influential since they represent the will of the Senate.

Motion text

That the Senate:

(a) notes that:

(i) since recordkeeping commenced in 1925, there have been over 190 000 deaths on Australia's roads,

(ii) over the last ten years, there have been 14 525 road fatalities in Australia,

(iii) during the 2017 calendar year, there were 1 225 road deaths across Australia,

(iv) in 2018 so far, there have been 665 deaths on Australian roads, and

(v) the annual economic cost of road crashes in Australia is estimated at $27 billion per annum, and the social impacts are devastating;

(b) recognises that according to the Government's own website, "the Australian Government is responsible for regulating safety standards for new vehicles, and for allocating infrastructure resources, including for safety, across the national highway and local road networks", and "the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities has a range of functions that support the Australian Government's role in road safety. These include: administering vehicle safety standards for new vehicles, administering the National Black Spot Program and other road funding, administering the keys2drive program, producing national road safety statistics, and coordinating the National Road Safety Strategy 2011-2020"; and

(c) calls on the Australian Government to:

(i) acknowledge that almost 90 per cent of the National Road Safety Strategy targets will not be met by 2020,

(ii) acknowledge that fewer than one in ten KPls are likely to be met and that a quarter of KPls still are not even being measured, and

(iii) provide a guarantee that the National Road Safety Strategy is being monitored, and that changes will be made to reach the agreed targets if they are not on track to be met.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Absent
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
David Smith ACT Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Tim Storer SA Independent Yes
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent No
Fraser Anning Queensland Katter's Australian Party Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (70% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Slade Brockman WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Jane Hume Victoria Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
John Williams NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
Brian Burston NSW Yes
Peter Georgiou WA Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Absent
Totals (76% turnout) 37 Yes – 23 No