The majority voted against a motion introduced by Senator Cory Bernardi, which means it failed. There was one rebel, with Nationals Senator Barry O'Sullivan (Qld) voting 'Yes' against the rest of the Nationals Party.

Motion text

That the Senate:

(a) notes the increasing number of Confucius classes or institutes being established within the Australian education system, accompanied by generous foreign government grants;

(b) also notes an SBS report that:

(i) Australia has the third largest number of such institutes after the United States of America and the United Kingdom, and

(ii) there were 525 institutes and 1 113 classrooms across 146 countries worldwide by the end of 2017;

(c) further notes concerns that have been expressed, including in the documentary 'In the name of Confucius' aired around Australia during the winter break, regarding academic freedom and freedom of conscience at or around these institutes;

(d) likewise notes comments attributed to Mr Ross Babbage, a former head of strategic analysis in the Office of National Assessments, and now a senior fellow at the Centre for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments (CSBA) in Washington, stating that Australian universities are "naive" about what goes on in the institutes, and that since early 2018 the United States' Federal Bureau of Investigation has been warning about the institutes' activities on United States' campuses;

(e) observes that the New South Wales government is reviewing its engagement with the institute; and

(f) calls upon the Minister for Education and Training to work with his state and territory counterparts to ensure full reviews of their engagement with these institutes and classrooms.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Absent
Australian Labor Party (64% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Kristina Keneally NSW No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
David Smith ACT No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Chris Ketter Queensland Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Stirling Griff SA No
Rex Patrick SA No
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent No
Tim Storer SA Independent No
Fraser Anning Queensland Katter's Australian Party Yes
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (57% turnout) 0 Yes 13 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Slade Brockman WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Dean Smith WA No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 1 Yes 2 No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
John Williams NSW No
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (150% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Brian Burston NSW Yes
Peter Georgiou WA Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Absent
Totals (72% turnout) 15 Yes – 42 No