The majority voted against a motion introduced by Senator Peter Georgiou (WA), which means it failed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) Western Australia receives a much lower proportion of goods and services tax (GST) revenue per capita than any other state – in 2017-18, the GST share per dollar for Western Australia was just 34 cents; no other state or territory received less than 87 cents,

(ii) on a per capita basis this equates to just $882 for every person in Western Australia compared to:

(A) $11,941 for every person in the Northern Territory,

(B) $4,624 for every Tasmanian, $3,690 for every South Australian and $2,389 for every Victorian with each of these states receiving more than three times the GST distribution per person when compared with Western Australia,

(iii) in 2016-17, Western Australia contributed 35 per cent of the nation's exports – by far the country's leading state on a balance of payments basis,

(iv) Western Australia subsidises all other states and territories, and, according to analysis by the Productivity Commission, over $3 billion dollars a year is being drained from Western Australia,

(v) international economic studies have shown that revenue transfers between states discourages economic development in recipient states and makes them dependent on subsidies from more economically progressive states, and

(vi) the Productivity Commission has prepared a report at the request of the government into the current GST distribution system, presented to the government on 15 May 2018 but not yet released;

(b) recognises that it is in the interests of the nation that tax revenue be fairly distributed; and

(c) calls on the government to immediately table the Productivity Commission report into the GST distribution system.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Andrew Bartlett Queensland No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Kristina Keneally NSW No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
David Smith ACT No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (0% turnout) Absent
Stirling Griff SA Absent
Rex Patrick SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent Yes
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent No
Tim Storer SA Independent No
Fraser Anning Queensland Katter's Australian Party Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (43% turnout) 0 Yes 10 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Amanda Stoker Queensland No
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
John Williams NSW Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Stirling Griff SA No
Rex Patrick SA No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (150% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Brian Burston NSW Yes
Peter Georgiou WA Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Absent
Totals (70% turnout) 6 Yes – 47 No