The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Greens Senator Richard Di Natale, which means it succeeded. Motions like these don’t make any legal changes by themselves but can be politically influential since they represent the will of the Senate.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes the launch today of Preventing Chronic Disease - How does Australia Score?, a score card produced by Prevention 1st, a campaign by the Foundation for Alcohol Research and Education, the Public Health Association of Australia, Dementia Australia and the Consumers Health Forum of Australia;

(b) notes that the scorecard rates Australia's progress on the World Health Organization's recommendations for the prevention and control of non-communicable diseases; and in particular the progress in addressing the four key risk factors of tobacco use, alcohol consumption, nutrition and physical activity;

(c) notes that the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare describes chronic disease as Australia's greatest health challenge and that a third of this disease burden is preventable;

(d) regrets the scorecard's findings that Australia's efforts rate as "poor" on three of the four risk factors – alcohol consumption, nutrition and physical activity;

(e) recognises that failure to make progress in these areas is leading to, and will continue to exacerbate, an increase in preventable chronic illnesses including obesity, heart disease, diabetes and dementia;

(f) condemns the government for dismantling the Australian National Preventive Health Agency and the flexible funds, cutting funding to prevention and public health programs and putting the quality of life and long term health of Australians at risk; and

(g) calls on the government to:

(i) actively engage in September's United Nations High-level meeting on non-communicable diseases (chronic disease) in New York and ensure Australia has ministerial representation; and

(ii) urgently act to invest in preventive health measures and implement the recommendations of the Preventing Chronic Disease – How does Australia Score? scorecard.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Absent
Australian Labor Party (92% turnout) 23 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Kristina Keneally NSW Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
David Smith ACT Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Centre Alliance (0% turnout) Absent
Stirling Griff SA Absent
Rex Patrick SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Tim Storer SA Independent Yes
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent No
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent No
Fraser Anning Queensland Katter's Australian Party Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Slade Brockman WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Brian Burston NSW No
Peter Georgiou WA Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Brian Burston NSW United Australia Party Absent
Totals (87% turnout) 36 Yes – 30 No