The majority voted against this motion, which means it failed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) on 18 March 2018, The Guardian reported that Cambridge Analytica harvested the Facebook profiles of more than 50 million users without their permission and used the personal information and resulting psychological and political profiles of the Facebook users to better target them with political advertisements during the Trump presidential election,

(ii) on 20 March 2018, The Guardian reported that members of the Liberal Party, including Mr Tehan, met with Cambridge Analytica in April 2017, and that the SA Liberals had adopted United States-based micro-targeting service - i360, backed by United States businessmen and conservative political donors, Messrs Charles Koch and David Koch, for the South Australian state election campaign,

(iii) Australian politicians, political parties and organisations engaged by political parties are exempt from privacy laws under section 7C of the Privacy Act 1988,

(iv) in 2000, in response to the proposed political exemption to the Privacy Act, the Federal Privacy Commissioner stated that he did "not think that the proposed exemption for political organisations is appropriate",

(v) in 2008, the Australian Law Reform Commission (ALRC) recommended the removal of the political exemption to the Privacy Act, stating "in the ALRC's view, political parties and those engaging in political acts and practices should be subject to the Privacy Act – provided that the legislation can accommodate adequately the constitutional doctrines of implied freedom of political communication and parliamentary privilege. Removing the political exemption also accords with a number of comparable overseas jurisdictions, which do not exempt political parties or those engaging in political acts and practices from complying with privacy legislation, including the United Kingdom, New Zealand and Hong Kong", and

(vi) there is need for ongoing review of privacy regulations in Australia, including the collection, storage, and use of personal information by government, corporations and other entities; and

(b) calls on:

(i) all Australian political parties to detail any involvement with Cambridge Analytica or SCL, including whether they had ever provided any government data, such as electoral rolls, and

(ii) the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission to also consider the collection and use of personal information for political advertising as part of its public inquiry into the impact of digital platforms on media and advertising markets in Australia.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (60% turnout) 0 Yes 15 No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Louise Pratt WA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent No
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent Absent
Tim Storer SA Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (57% turnout) 0 Yes 13 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Slade Brockman WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Jim Molan NSW No
James Paterson Victoria No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Dean Smith WA No
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
Amanda Stoker Queensland Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (0% turnout) Absent
Brian Burston NSW Absent
Peter Georgiou WA Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President No
Totals (64% turnout) 12 Yes – 37 No