The majority voted in favour of keeping items 1 and 2 on schedule 13 and section 42AB in item 1 of schedule 15 unchanged. In parliamentary jargon, they voted in favour of a motion "that items 1 and 2 on schedule 13 and section 42AB in item 1 of schedule 15 stand as printed."

Items 1 and 2 on schedule 13

According to the bills digest:

Item 1 in Schedule 13 to the Bill inserts the definition of a declared program participant into the dictionary at subsection 23(1) of the SS Act. According to this definition, a declared program participant is a participant in an employment services program specified in a determination made under section 28C of the SS Act.

Item 2 inserts proposed section 28C into the SS Act to allow the Secretary to make a determination, by legislative instrument, in relation to participants in a specified employment services program.

Section 42AB in item 1 of schedule 15

Text of section 42AB:

42AB Division not to apply to declared program participants

This Division applies in relation to a person if the person is not a declared program participant.

According to the bills digest, a declared program participant is:

a new category of income support recipient ... that is, someone who is a participant in an employment services program specified in a determination (an alcohol and/or other drug treatment program)

Votes Passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Jordon Steele-John WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (44% turnout) 11 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Kristina Keneally NSW Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent Yes
Steve Martin Tasmania Independent Yes
Tim Storer SA Independent Yes
Fraser Anning Queensland Independent No
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (59% turnout) 13 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
David Bushby Tasmania Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Jim Molan NSW Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (67% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Rex Patrick SA Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Brian Burston NSW No
Peter Georgiou WA No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Totals (63% turnout) 42 Yes – 5 No