The majority voted against a motion introduced by Senator Cory Bernardi (SA), which means it failed.

Senator Fraser Anning (Qld) voted 'Yes' to this motion against the rest of his party, which voted 'No'. This is known as crossing the floor.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that the Trump Administration has succeeded in passing, through both Houses of the Congress of the United States of America (US), over USD$1 trillion in company tax cuts over 10 years, including a cut in the corporate tax rate from 35% to potentially 20%;

(b) expresses concern that these US company tax cuts will affect Australian companies' global competitiveness;

(c) also notes the Australian Department of Treasury research, published earlier this month, revealing that if Australia's corporate tax rate was cut from 30% to 25% by 2026, there would be $30 billion in additional company tax revenue due to stronger economic growth, and increased GST revenue from additional consumer spending;

(d) further notes the recent comments of the Business Council of Australia and the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry supporting Australian company tax cuts; and

(e) supports tax relief for Australian companies to ensure our companies remain globally competitive.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

  • Fraser Anning voted Yes against the majority of the Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party.
Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Andrew Bartlett Queensland No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Jordon Steele-John WA No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (68% turnout) 0 Yes 17 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Sam Dastyari NSW Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent Yes
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (75% turnout) 15 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
David Bushby Tasmania Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Stirling Griff SA No
Rex Patrick SA No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (75% turnout) 1 Yes 2 No
Fraser Anning Queensland Yes
Brian Burston NSW No
Peter Georgiou WA No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria President Absent
Totals (78% turnout) 26 Yes – 30 No