The majority voted against an amendment introduced by Labor Senator Carol Brown that dealt with disclosure of interests.

Senator Brown explained that:

Disclosing any conflicts of interest by the CEO is about transparency to ensure that decisions made by the CEO are made without personal influence or indeed external influence. Ensuring that the CEO discloses any conflicts of interest will reduce the risk of any potential for corruption and/or misconduct. For the minister's information, that is a part of the Clean Energy Finance Corporation.

However, Liberal Senator Anne Ruston said that the Government would not support the amendment, explaining that:

As you would be aware, the PGPA Act [Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013] requires officials of Commonwealth entities to disclose any material personal interests that relate to the affairs of the entity, and it also requires and provides for rules to prescribe how and when those interests are to be disclosed. The PGPA Rule provides for the board, as the accountable authority of the entity, to instruct how officials of the corporation, including the CEO, are to disclose the interests.

Amendment text

(7) Page 23 (after line 10), after clause 41, insert:

41A Disclosure of interests

(1) The CEO must give written notice to the Board of any disclosure made by the CEO under section 29 of the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013 (which deals with the duty to disclose interests).

(2) Subsection (1) applies in addition to any rules made for the purposes of section 29 of the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013.

(3) For the purposes of this Act and the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013, the CEO is taken not to have complied with section 29 of that Act if the CEO does not comply with subsection (1) of this section.

What does this bill do?

The bill was introduced to create a Regional Investment Corporation to administer farm business loans and financial assistance granted to states and territories. Read more about it in the bills digest.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (72% turnout) 18 Yes 0 No
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Sam Dastyari NSW Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Chris Ketter Queensland Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent No
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Slade Brockman WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA No
Nick Xenophon SA No
Stirling Griff SA Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Brian Burston NSW No
Peter Georgiou WA No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Absent
Totals (78% turnout) 28 Yes – 30 No