The majority voted against a motion asking the Senate to note the cost of horse racing to the horses, in terms of injury, death and general treatment. The motion was introduced by NSW Greens Senator Lee Rhiannon.

Motion text

That the Senate notes that—

(a) the Melbourne Cup is known as the "race that stops the nation";

(b) according to the Coalition for the Protection of Racehorses' analysis of stewards' reports, from 1 August 2016 to 31 July 2017, 137 horses were killed on the track;

(c) according to Professor Ray Geor from the University of Michigan, studies show that almost 90 per cent of racehorses suffer exercise-induced pulmonary haemorrhage (EIPH), otherwise known as bleeding in the respiratory system, at least once after three races;

(d) a 2005 report, for the Australian Government' s Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation, notes EIPH as cause of morbidity and its high prevalence in racing thoroughbreds; and

(e) according to veterinarians Ms Leanne Begg and Mr Chris O' Sullivan, from the Randwick Equine Centre, the prevalence of gastric ulceration, otherwise known as stomach ulcers, in thoroughbred racehorses is reported to be between 66 per cent and 93 per cent, increasing to 80 per cent to 100 per cent as duration in training increases and horses commence racing.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (64% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Sam Dastyari NSW Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Chris Ketter Queensland Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent No
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (43% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Slade Brockman WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
James Paterson Victoria No
Anne Ruston SA No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Nick Xenophon Team (67% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA No
Nick Xenophon SA No
Stirling Griff SA Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Peter Georgiou WA No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Brian Burston NSW Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Stephen Parry Tasmania President No
Totals (62% turnout) 7 Yes – 39 No