The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Greens Senator Peter Whish-Wilson.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes:

(i) that accurate climate and meteorological forecasting prior to, and during, the recent Atlantic hurricanes allowed for evacuations and emergency management that saved lives,

(ii) a recent article in The Economist which stated that while the number of extreme climate and weather-related emergencies have increased due to climate change, the fall in the number of fatalities is partly attributable to improved climate and weather forecasting,

(iii) that the Trump Administration has proposed cuts to agencies responsible for climate and meteorological forecasting, including the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, and

(iv) that Australia has a world-class climate science and meteorological community;

(b) nevertheless, notes that the Australian Academy of Science's 2017 Climate Science Capability Review found that climate science and meteorological efforts are under-resourced, poorly coordinated and subject to short-term funding cycles;

(c) further notes that various climate agencies in Australia, including the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, have faced ongoing funding pressure;

(d) commends the work of Australia's climate agencies and researchers; and

(e) notes the recommendations of Australian Academy of Science's 2017 Climate Science Capability Review, particularly funding an additional 77 climate science researchers, and ensuring continued capability in the Antarctic Climate and Ecosystems Cooperative Research Centre.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Sam Dastyari NSW Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent No
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (71% turnout) 0 Yes 15 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Slade Brockman WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
James Paterson Victoria No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Brian Burston NSW No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Peter Georgiou WA Absent
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Absent
Totals (77% turnout) 31 Yes – 26 No