The majority voted against amendments introduced by South Australian Senator Cory Bernardi (Australian Conservatives), which means they failed.

Senator Bernardi explained that:

The purpose of this amendment is to ensure the government is true to its word in only intending to apply the scope of this bill to whipper-snippers, lawnmowers, outboard motors and other areas it has expressly identified, but expressly excluding vehicles. Vehicles are the highest source of emissions, but the government has sworn off regulating vehicle emission during this term of government.

Amendment text

(1) Clause 7, page 5 (after line 4), after the definition of mark, insert:

motor vehicle:

(a) means a vehicle that uses, or is designed to use, volatile spirit, gas, oil, electricity or any other power (not being human or animal power) as the principal means of compulsion; and

(b) includes a vehicle not designed for use on public roads or not permitted to be used on public roads.

(2) Clause 7, page 5 (lines 7 to 10), omit the definition of product, substitute:

product has the meaning given by subsection (5).

(3) Clause 7, page 6 (after line 4), at the end of the clause, add:

(5) Subject to subsection (6), a product means a thing (including a substance or mixture of substances) that is:

(a) manufactured; or

(b) prescribed by the rules for the purposes of this definition.

(6) A product does not include a motor vehicle.

Note: For the regulation of emissions in relation to road motor vehicles, see the Motor Vehicle Standards Act 1989.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 7 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (40% turnout) 0 Yes 10 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Sam Dastyari NSW No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Louise Pratt WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Yes
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (57% turnout) 0 Yes 12 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
Slade Brockman WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
James Paterson Victoria No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Dean Smith WA No
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Stirling Griff SA No
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA No
Nick Xenophon SA No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Brian Burston NSW Yes
Peter Georgiou WA Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Absent
Totals (62% turnout) 7 Yes – 39 No