The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Nationals Senator Barry O'Sullivan. Motions like these don't have legal force, but they do represent the will of the Senate so can be politically influential.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) the Australian Labor Party's (ALP) Climate Action Plan, released in April 2016, states that 'Labor will introduce a framework to kick start the closure' of coal-fired power stations,

(ii) the ALP co-sponsored a Senate motion in October 2016 'to encourage the retirement of coal-fired power stations',

(iii) the Federal Opposition Leader told media in October 2016 that 'coal has a future in Australia',

(iv) the ALP supported a Senate motion in March 2017 stating that Government 'has no choice but to walk away from funding coal-fired power stations',

(v) the ALP supported a Senate motion in March 2017 stating that 'thermal coal is in structural decline and has no long term future in Australia',

(vi) the ALP supported a Senate motion in June 2017 congratulating the Federal Minister for Resources and Northern Australia and the Queensland Premier for 'their leadership in bringing the Adani Carmichael Mine in Queensland's Galilee Basin another step closer to being a reality', and

(vii) the ALP supported a Senate motion in August 2017 stating that Government 'should not force the early retirement of coal-fired power stations'; and

(b) calls on the Federal Australian Labor Party to come clean with a coherent policy position regarding the future role of coal and coal-fired power stations in the national energy mix.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (84% turnout) 0 Yes 21 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Sam Dastyari NSW No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Yes
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 1 Yes 0 No
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (71% turnout) 15 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Slade Brockman WA Yes
David Bushby Tasmania Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Fiona Nash NSW Yes
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Brian Burston NSW Yes
Peter Georgiou WA Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Yes
Totals (84% turnout) 40 Yes – 22 No