The majority voted against amendments introduced by South Australian Senator Sarah Hanson-Young (Greens), which means they failed.

What did this amendment do?

Senator Hanson-Young explained that these amendments would be:

... putting a restriction on Efic's [i.e., the Export Finance and Insurance Corporation's] ability to use its expertise and to fund further subsidies for the fossil fuel industry. We are, of course, very concerned that, despite a number of issues that Efic could and should be spending its time on in relation to other types of export projects, and advancing ability for Australian industry, the last thing we should have is more Australian taxpayer money being spent on propping up the fossil fuel industry in this country.

Amendment text

(1) Schedule 1, page 4 (after line 3), after item 4, insert:

4A At the end of subsection 8(2)


(c) ensure it is not funding transactions that, directly or indirectly, support the extraction of fossil fuels (including in relation to EFIC's Northern Australia economic infrastructure functions).

(2) Schedule 1, item 6A, page 4 (after line 27), at the end of section 16, add:

(5) In addition, EFIC must not make a guarantee or enter into a contract under this section in relation to a loan or a proposed loan if the loan or the proposed loan is to be used, directly or indirectly, for the purpose of extracting fossil fuels.

(3) Schedule 1, item 6B, page 5 (after line 7), at the end of section 23, add:

(5) In addition, EFIC must not lend money under this section for the purpose of financing a transaction if the purpose of the transaction is to extract fossil fuels.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (44% turnout) 0 Yes 11 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Sam Dastyari NSW Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent No
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (52% turnout) 0 Yes 11 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Slade Brockman WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
James Paterson Victoria No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
David Bushby Tasmania Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
John Williams NSW No
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Stirling Griff SA No
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA No
Nick Xenophon SA No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Brian Burston NSW No
Peter Georgiou WA No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Absent
Totals (59% turnout) 7 Yes – 37 No