The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Senator Richard Di Natale that called for documents to be produced. The documents contain the Solicitor-General's advice regarding the eligibility of the Member for New England, Deputy Prime Minister Barnaby Joyce, to stand for Parliament.

Why might Barnaby Joyce be ineligible for Parliament?

The Constitution requires that all our representatives in Parliament carry only Australian citizenship. Since Mr Joyce may be a New Zealand citizen by birth, he may not have been eligible to stand for Parliament. What this means is still to be determined by the High Court, though the Solicitor-General has given advice on the matter and it is that advice that Senator Di Natale requested be presented to Parliament.

Motion text


(a) the Senate notes:

(i) the admission of the Member for New England, Mr Barnaby Joyce MP, that he may hold New Zealand citizenship,

(ii) that the New Zealand Government has confirmed that Mr Joyce is a citizen of New Zealand, and

(iii) that the case has been referred to the Court of Disputed Returns; and

(b) there be laid on the table, by the Attorney­ General, by no later than 12 noon on 17 August 2017, the Solicitor-General's advice regarding the eligibility of the Member for New England to continue to sit as a member of the House of Representatives or serve as a minister in the Cabinet.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives No
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (84% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Sam Dastyari NSW Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Louise Pratt WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Yes
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Yes
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Slade Brockman WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Brian Burston NSW Yes
Peter Georgiou WA Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania President No
Totals (86% turnout) 39 Yes – 25 No