The majority voted against amendments introduced by South Australian Senator Cory Bernardi (Australian Conservatives), which means they failed.

Senator Bernardi explained that:

The amendments I have proposed here are that the funding will be allocated in accordance with the government's own projections over the forward estimates—in fact, slightly further on than that because we are already into the first year. Basically, they say: 'Yes, the funding is there for the next four years. Then, if you want more funding to pursue it, come back to the parliament and resubmit it again and have the discussion again about the best way forward.'

Amendment text

Clause 2, page 2 (table item 4), omit "176", substitute "181".

Schedule 1, page 37 (after line 26), at the end of the Schedule, add:

Part 4—Limiting commitments

177 Subsections 67(2) and 69A(1) (note 2)

Repeal the note.

178 Subsections 112(3) to (5)

Omit "section 126", substitute "subsection 126(1)".

179 Section 126

Before "The Consolidated Revenue Fund", insert "(1)".

180 Section 126

After "for a year", insert "commencing before 1 January 2022".

181 At the end of section 126


(2) Payments of financial assistance under this Act to a State or Territory for a year commencing on or after 1 January 2022 are to be made out of money appropriated by the Parliament by another Act.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Scott Ludlam WA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (44% turnout) 0 Yes 11 No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Sam Dastyari NSW Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Katy Gallagher ACT Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Absent
Claire Moore Queensland Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Lucy Gichuhi SA Independent No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent No
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (52% turnout) 0 Yes 11 No
Christopher Back WA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
James Paterson Victoria No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Stirling Griff SA No
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA No
Nick Xenophon SA No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Peter Georgiou WA No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Brian Burston NSW Absent
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Absent
Totals (63% turnout) 2 Yes – 46 No