The majority voted against a motion introduced by Nick Xenophon Team Senator Skye Kakoschke-Moore, which means it was rejected. The motion called for greater focus on youth employment and for the Government to appoint a Minister for Young People.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) the first Minister for Employment and Youth Affairs was appointed by the Fraser Government in 1978,

(ii) subsequent Labor and Coalition Federal Governments have appointed Ministers with a portfolio concerned with youth, and the Howard Government had three different ministers who held the youth affairs portfolio,

(iii) in 2013, the Abbott Government abolished the youth portfolio,

(iv) in May 2014, the Government advised it was planning a "focused and targeted approach" to consult with young people, yet, this year is likely the last National Youth Week with no funding in the forward estimates – the Deloitte 2017 Millennial Survey suggests that young people struggle to engage with major political parties and not having a Youth Minister acts as a clear signal that engagement with young people is not a priority for this Government, and

(v) Australia's youth unemployment and underemployment is an increasingly systemic concern – the current youth unemployment rate sits at 13.3 per cent, and the youth underemployment rate sits at 18.3 per cent; and

(b) calls on the Government to:

(i) to appoint a Minister for Young People,

(ii) ensure that this minister have a particular focus upon youth engagement, youth employment and transition to work, and

(iii) ensure that this minister sit within the Cabinet.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Absent
Australian Greens (78% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Richard Di Natale Victoria Absent
Larissa Waters Queensland Absent
Australian Labor Party (84% turnout) 0 Yes 21 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Sue Lines WA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Sam Dastyari NSW Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 14 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Christopher Back WA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Brian Burston NSW No
Peter Georgiou WA No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Stephen Parry Tasmania President No
Totals (79% turnout) 11 Yes – 48 No