The majority voted against a motion introduced by National Party Senator John Williams, also on behalf of National Senators Bridget McKenzie and Barry O'Sullivan. This means the motion was rejected.

Although the motion is related to decentralisation, one of its notes is a very broad criticism of the Australian Labor Party: "unlike its state and federal counterparts in previous years, the current Federal Labor Opposition does not show any interest in supporting the regions". But the motion didn't list any evidence for this claim.

Motion text

That the Senate notes that:

(a) over many years, state and federal governments and local communities have seen the benefits of decentralisation through the relocation of government agencies to rural and regional areas;

(b) the New South Wales Nationals in government relocated the Department of Agriculture to Orange in 1992;

(c) the New South Wales Labor Government moved at least seven agencies from Sydney to a regional centre between 2000 and 2005;

(d) during that time the then New South Wales Premier Mr Bob Carr confirmed Labor was committed to relocating government jobs to rural and regional areas;

(e) the Victorian Labor Government relocated the Transport Accident Commission to Geelong in 2009, and has commenced relocating Worksafe Victoria to Geelong;

(f) the Keating Labor Government moved the Australian Securities and Investments Commission to Traralgon in the early 1990s;

(g) unlike its state and federal counterparts in previous years, the current Federal Labor Opposition does not show any interest in supporting the regions;

(h) the Australian Government is in the process of relocating several agencies, many to rural and regional areas, including:

(i) the Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority to Armidale,

(ii) the Grains Research and Development Corporation to Toowoomba, Dubbo, Perth and Adelaide,

(iii) the Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation to Wagga Wagga, and

(iv) the Fisheries Research and Development Corporation to Adelaide;

(i) planning is underway for new regional offices of the Murray-Darling Basin Authority across New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland and South Australia; and

(j) the movement of agricultural agencies to locations will result in unprecedented engagement with farmers, growers, scientists, research experts, business and the community in general.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Scott Ludlam WA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Larissa Waters Queensland Absent
Australian Labor Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Sam Dastyari NSW Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (81% turnout) 17 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Christopher Back WA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
Michaelia Cash WA Yes
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Jane Hume Victoria Yes
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
James Paterson Victoria Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
George Brandis Queensland Absent
David Bushby Tasmania Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (0.0% turnout) Absent
Stirling Griff SA Absent
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Brian Burston NSW Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Absent
Totals (77% turnout) 28 Yes – 29 No