The majority voted against a motion introduced by Australian Conservatives Senator Cory Bernardi (SA).

While the rest of the Liberal Party voted against the motion, Liberal Senator Ian Macdonald rebelled against his party and voted Yes.

This motion would limit the prime minister entitlements included in the Act to prime ministers who have been in the position for at least four consecutive years, which would exclude our three most recent former prime ministers: Tony Abbott, Julia Gillard and Kevin Rudd.

Motion text

(1) Schedule 1, item 8, page 6 (after line 23), after the definition of Parliamentary Retirement Travel Entitlement, insert:

Prime Minister: see section 4AB.

(2) Schedule 1, item 9, page 7 (after line 5), after section 4AA, insert:

4AB Prime Ministers

For the purposes of this Act, a member is only taken to be the Prime Minister if the member has been the Prime Minister for a period of at least 4 consecutive years.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

  • Ian Macdonald voted Yes against the majority of the Liberal Party.
Party Votes
Cory Bernardi SA Australian Conservatives Yes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Absent
Australian Labor Party (40% turnout) 0 Yes 10 No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Sue Lines WA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Louise Pratt WA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Sam Dastyari NSW Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (67% turnout) 1 Yes 13 No
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
Christopher Back WA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
James Paterson Victoria No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Stirling Griff SA No
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA No
Nick Xenophon SA No
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Brian Burston NSW Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Absent
Totals (61% turnout) 13 Yes – 32 No