The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by WA One Nation Senator Rod Culleton also on behalf of Tasmanian Senator Jacqui Lambie.

In making and voting in favour of this motion, Senator Culleton was rebelling from his party, Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party. This is the sixth time Sentor Culleton has rebelled since joining Parliament in July 2016.

There has been growing tension between Senator Culleton and the One Nation Party according to the media.

Motion text


(a) the Senate notes that:

(i) on 25 November 2016, solicitors on behalf of the Commonwealth Attorney-General filed a Statement of Agreed Facts in the High Court sitting as the Court of Disputed Returns in the matter of Re Rodney Culleton,

(ii) paragraph 1 of the Statement of Agreed Facts includes the following statement: the Magistrate in convicting Senator Culleton as an absent offender was precluded by section 25 of the Crimes (Sentencing Procedure) Act 1999 (NSW) from making an order for a sentence of imprisonment, and

(iii) the facts set out above and agreed by solicitors acting on behalf of the Commonwealth Attorney-General were not before the Senate on Monday 7 November 2016 when it considered the motion moved by Senator Brandis to refer the matter to the High Court under section 378 of the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1908;

(b) the Senate calls on the Attorney-General (Senator Brandis) to attend the chamber and clarify this matter

Votes Passed by a small majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

  • Rod Culleton voted Yes against the majority of the Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party.
Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (84% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Sam Dastyari NSW Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Don Farrell SA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Yes
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Yes
Sue Lines WA Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Yes
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (77% turnout) 0 Yes 17 No
Christopher Back WA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
James Paterson Victoria No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
John Williams NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (100% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Yes
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 1 Yes 3 No
Rod Culleton WA Yes
Brian Burston NSW No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania President No
Totals (84% turnout) 35 Yes – 28 No