The majority voted against a motion introduced by Tasmanian Senator Jacqui Lambie (Independent), which means it failed.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) Retired General David Morrison, AO, was appointed Australian of the Year for 2016,

(ii) Australian of the Year has traditionally demonstrated: excellence in their field, a significant contribution to the Australian community and nation, and been and inspirational role model for the Australian community,

(iii) a recently uncovered New South Wales Police Force investigation into the "Jedi Council", the Strike Force Civet report, which investigated sex assaults and other related crimes involving members of the Australian Defence Force (ADF) during General Morrison's command of the Army, indicated a sophisticated, high-level, military cover-up, including deliberate lies, withholding of evidence, fabrication of information, and supported the conduct of criminal and serious internal offences,

(iv) sworn testimony from a subordinate of General Morrison, retired Lieutenant Colonel Karel Dubsky, indicates that General Morrison and others deliberately ignored the facts as stated in the Strike Force Civet report, and allowed Lieutenant Colonel Dubsky and others to be wrongly accused of being members of a group of sex offenders, and/or demeaners of women, and

(v) General Morrison's behaviour caused exceptional and undue harm to retired Lieutenant Colonel Dubsky, his family, and other innocent members of the ADF, and demonstrated behaviour that was the opposite required of the Australian of the Year; and

(b) calls on the Government to make a recommendation to remove General Morrison as Australian of the Year, and replace him with a person worthy of the title.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Scott Ludlam WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (72% turnout) 0 Yes 18 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Kimberley Kitching Victoria No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Louise Pratt WA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Absent
Sam Dastyari NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Murray Watt Queensland Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Yes
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (77% turnout) 0 Yes 17 No
Christopher Back WA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
James Paterson Victoria No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Nick Xenophon Team (0% turnout) Absent
Stirling Griff SA Absent
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Brian Burston NSW Yes
Rod Culleton WA Yes
Pauline Hanson Queensland Yes
Malcolm Roberts Queensland Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania President No
Totals (79% turnout) 7 Yes – 52 No