The majority voted against a motion to end live animal export, which was introduced by NSW Greens Senator Lee Rhiannon.

This means that it was unsuccessful.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources report, Live-stock mortalities during exports by sea—Report for the period 1 January to 30 June 2016, tabled on 7 November 2016, recorded that another 839 cattle and 4,301 sheep died on live export ships in the first six months of this year,

(ii) from 2009 to 2015, a total of 147,969 animals, that is 7,791 cattle and 140,178 sheep, died on live export voyages from Australia, representing an average of 406 animals per week suffering lingering deaths in that period,

(iii) mortality is no indicator of morbidity or the number of animals who suffer on lengthy live export voyages,

(iv) deaths at sea are so accepted by the industry and government that on every consignment, 1 per cent of cattle and 2 per cent of sheep can die without triggering a government investigation, and

(v) not one exporter has ever had its licence revoked despite continuing and horrific breaches of the Exporter Supply Chain Assurance System (ESCAS); and

(b) calls on the Government to end the live export trade and work to expand the trade in boxed chilled meat.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (60% turnout) 0 Yes 15 No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Anthony Chisholm Queensland No
Don Farrell SA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Malarndirri McCarthy NT No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Louise Pratt WA No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Murray Watt Queensland No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Sam Dastyari NSW Absent
Patrick Dodson WA Absent
Kimberley Kitching Victoria Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President No
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent No
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (73% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Christopher Back WA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
Nick Xenophon Team (0% turnout) Absent
Stirling Griff SA Absent
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Brian Burston NSW No
Rod Culleton WA No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Absent
Totals (69% turnout) 9 Yes – 43 No