The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by NSW Senator Lee Rhiannon, which means it was successful.

Motions like these don't have legal force, but do express the opinion of the Senate.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(1) notes that:

(a) the statement of ministerial standards stipulates that "Ministers are required to undertake that, for an eighteen month period after ceasing to be a Minister, they will not lobby, advocate or have business meetings with members of the government, parliament, public service or defence force on any matters on which they have had official dealings as Minister in their last eighteen months in office";

(b) Mr Ian Macfarlane held the Resources portfolio for the Coalition for thirteen years, including nine years as Minister, most recently the period of 18 September 2013 until 21 September 2015;

(c) on 26 September 2016, approximately twelve months after he ceased to be a Minister, it was reported that Mr Macfarlane had been appointed as CEO of the Queensland Resources Council; and

(d) it was also reported that Prime Minister Turnbull's office gave approval for Mr Macfarlane's appointment;

(2) calls on all federal Ministers to rule out meeting with Mr Macfarlane in his capacity as CEO of the Queensland Resources Council until 21 March 2017 when eighteen months will have elapsed after he ceased to hold his ministerial portfolios; and

(3) calls on Prime Minister Turnbull to clarify whether he or his office endorsed Mr Macfarlane's disregard for the statement of ministerial standards.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (78% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Absent
Larissa Waters Queensland Absent
Australian Labor Party (79% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Sam Dastyari NSW Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party No
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President Yes
Sue Lines WA Deputy President Absent
Bob Day SA Family First Party Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Yes
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (73% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Christopher Back WA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Dean Smith WA No
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Nick Xenophon Team (67% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Brian Burston NSW No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Rod Culleton WA Absent
Pauline Hanson Queensland Absent
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Absent
Totals (77% turnout) 31 Yes – 27 No