The majority voted in favour of a motion to create a national redress scheme for survivors of institutional sexual abuse.

Motions like these don't have any legal force (so it can't create a redress scheme by itself), but represent the opinion of the Senate.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) recognises the immense suffering of survivors of institutional child sexual abuse, and that survivors may be affected by the abuse for their whole lives;

(b) acknowledges that 14 September 2016 marks the one year anniversary of the final report of the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse;

(c) calls on the Federal Government to establish a National Redress Scheme for Survivors of Institutional Sexual Abuse, following recommendations of the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse, which include:

(i) the creation of a single national redress scheme, coordinated by the Federal Government, and not outsourcing responsibility to the states, and

(ii) the provision of counselling and financial redress with costs met by the institutions responsible for the perpetrators of the abuse;

(d) notes that:

(i) the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse recommended the Government announce a national redress scheme by the end of 2015 and proceed without delay, and

(ii) the Government did not meet this recommended deadline and any further delay puts at risk the recommended start date of 1 July 2017; and

(e) recommends that the Federal Government consult extensively on further details of a national redress scheme to ensure that it fully meets the ongoing and complex needs of survivors and their families.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (89% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (77% turnout) 20 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Anthony Chisholm Queensland Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Sam Dastyari NSW Yes
Patrick Dodson WA Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Katy Gallagher ACT Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Yes
Sue Lines WA Yes
Jenny McAllister NSW Yes
Malarndirri McCarthy NT Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Louise Pratt WA Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Murray Watt Queensland Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Don Farrell SA Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Derryn Hinch Victoria Derryn Hinch's Justice Party Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President Yes
Bob Day SA Family First Party Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Yes
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
James McGrath Queensland No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (73% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Christopher Back WA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Jonathon Duniam Tasmania No
David Fawcett SA No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Jane Hume Victoria No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
James Paterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Dean Smith WA No
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Nick Xenophon Team (67% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Stirling Griff SA Yes
Skye Kakoschke-Moore SA Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Absent
Pauline Hanson's One Nation Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Brian Burston NSW No
Rod Culleton WA No
Pauline Hanson Queensland No
Malcolm Roberts Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania President No
Totals (82% turnout) 34 Yes – 28 No