The majority of Senators disagreed with Senator Lee Rhiannon's motion:

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) there is strong evidence that Leighton Holdings paid millions of dollars to Unaoil in 2010 and 2011, and was involved in serious corruption in Iraq,

(ii) since 2010, Leighton Holdings has donated at least $143,000 to the federal Liberal Party of Australia and the Australian Labor Party,

(iii) in 2014-15 the property industry donated $1.8 million to the Liberal Party of Australia and $591,167 to the Australian Labor Party,

(iv) in 2014-15, Westpac, ANZ, NAB, the Commonwealth Bank and the Macquarie Group donated $1,057,361 to the major parties, and

(v) in 2013-14, Brickworks provided $263,000 in donations to the Liberal Party and offered in-kind campaign support to the federal Liberal Party to repeal the carbon price;

(b) the High Court of Australia Justices Kiefel, Bell, Keane and Chief Justice French stated in McCloy v NSW that reliance by political candidates on private patronage may, over time become so necessary as to sap the vitality as well as the integrity of the political branches of government; and

(c) calls on the Government to amend the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 to ban donations from property developers, tobacco industry business entities, liquor business entities, gambling industry business entities, mineral resources or mining industry business entities, and industry lobby groups who represent these entities.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 10 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Robert Simms SA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Patrick Dodson WA No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Sue Lines WA No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Nova Peris NT No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Sam Dastyari NSW Absent
Joe Ludwig Queensland Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Ricky Muir Victoria Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party No
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President Absent
Bob Day SA Family First Party Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Yes
Glenn Lazarus Queensland Independent Yes
John Madigan Victoria Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (48% turnout) 0 Yes 12 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Christopher Back WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Sean Edwards SA No
David Fawcett SA No
Jo Lindgren Queensland No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
James Paterson Victoria No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
Dean Smith WA Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Nick Xenophon Team Absent
Dio Wang WA Palmer United Party Absent
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Absent
Totals (61% turnout) 12 Yes – 34 No