The majority voted against a motion intreduced by Independent Senator Nick Xenophon (SA), with Independent Senator John Madigan (Vic) and Greens Senator Peter Whish-Wilson (Tas) as co-sponsors. This means that the motion was unsuccessful.

The motion related to the proposed sale of the Van Diemen's Land Company to a foreign owned company.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes:

(i) the proposed sale of Australasia's largest and most productive dairy farm holding, Van Diemen's Land Company, to Moon Lake Investments, is currently before the Foreign Investment Review Board,

(ii) the critical importance of Van Diemen's Land Company to Australia for food security and our international reputation as a high quality dairy product producer,

(iii) the significant environmental importance of the Van Diemen's Land property with its remnant vegetation, refuge to the last disease-free population of Tasmanian devil in the area and habitat to rare, threatened and endangered native fauna and flora species, and

(iv) the opportunity for this iconic and strategically-important agricultural and natural asset to be brought into Australian ownership for the first time; and

(b) calls on the Government to consider:

(i) the potential economic, social and environmental benefits that may flow from a viable alternative Australian-based bid for Van Diemen's Land Company when considering the Moon Lake Investments proposal, and

(ii) the following as part of a national interest test when examining the proposed sale of Van Diemen's Land Company to Moon Lake Investments:

(A) the potential for transfer pricing, including any potential loss of revenue to the Commonwealth,

(B) commitments to the local workforce in terms of the business plan being proposed, and

(C) any expansion plans of the overseas bid compared to the local bid.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 10 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Robert Simms SA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 18 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Joe Bullock WA No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Sue Lines WA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Nova Peris NT No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Sam Dastyari NSW Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Ricky Muir Victoria Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party Yes
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President No
Bob Day SA Family First Party Absent
Glenn Lazarus Queensland Independent Yes
John Madigan Victoria Independent Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (0% turnout) Absent
Matthew Canavan Queensland Absent
James McGrath Queensland Absent
Liberal Party (52% turnout) 0 Yes 13 No
Christopher Back WA No
Cory Bernardi SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Sean Edwards SA No
David Fawcett SA No
David Johnston WA No
Jo Lindgren Queensland No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
John Williams NSW Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Nick Xenophon Team Absent
Dio Wang WA Palmer United Party No
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Absent
Totals (66% turnout) 14 Yes – 36 No