The majority voted for this amendent, which was introduced by Greens Senator Richard Di Natale, which means it was successful.

What was the amendment?

The amendment introduced new provisions that mean that Australian companies with a total annual income of $200 million or more will have to report certain tax information so it becomes public. That information includes the company's ABN, its total annual income, its taxable income and its tax payable.

The Labor Party opposed this amendment and said the threshold should be $100 million.

Liberal Senator Cory Bernardi rebelled against his colleagues (which is known as crossing the floor) and voted against this amendment because he believed it went against a policy his party room had previously agreed on.

What made this amendment controversial?

Even though the Greens Party earlier agreed with the Labor Party that the threshold should be $100 million, they made an agreement with the Coalition Government to support a higher $200 million threshold. They did this because they thought it was better than nothing. Read ABC News for more information.

The Labor Party were not pleased.

What does the bill do?

The bill strengthens the laws against tax avoidance for certain companies. For example, it introduces anti-avoidance measures to deal with multinational companies with an annual global income of more than $A1 billion that use schemes to avoid having to pay tax in Australia or at least reduce that tax to a minimum.

To learn more about the bill, see the bills digest.

Votes Passed by a small majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

  • Cory Bernardi voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
Party Votes
Australian Greens (90% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Robert Simms SA Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Absent
Australian Labor Party (71% turnout) 0 Yes 17 No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Joe Bullock WA No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Stephen Conroy Victoria No
Sam Dastyari NSW No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Sue Lines WA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Anne McEwen SA No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Nova Peris NT No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Penny Wong SA No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Chris Ketter Queensland Absent
Jan McLucas Queensland Absent
Deborah O'Neill NSW Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Ricky Muir Victoria Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party No
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President No
Bob Day SA Family First Party No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent No
Glenn Lazarus Queensland Independent No
Nick Xenophon SA Independent No
John Madigan Victoria Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (84% turnout) 20 Yes 1 No
Christopher Back WA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
George Brandis Queensland Yes
David Bushby Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Mathias Cormann WA Yes
Sean Edwards SA Yes
David Fawcett SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Bill Heffernan NSW Yes
David Johnston WA Yes
Jo Lindgren Queensland Yes
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
Cory Bernardi SA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Fiona Nash NSW Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Nick Xenophon Team Absent
Dio Wang WA Palmer United Party No
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Yes
Totals (82% turnout) 36 Yes – 26 No