The majority voted against a motion introduced by Greens Senator Larissa Waters related to the 2015 United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP 21) in Paris (read more about COP 21 on ABC News).

Wording of the motion

That the Senate—

(a) notes:

(i) That the 2015 United Nations Climate Change Conference to be held in Paris [COP 21] begins on Monday, 30 November 2015,

(ii) calls by the President of Kiribati, Mr Anote Tong, and other leaders for a global moratorium on new coal mines,

(iii) calls in the Suva Declaration on Climate Change [PDF file] from the Pacific Islands Development Forum and the Port Moresby Declaration on Climate Change from the Smaller Island State Leaders' for an ambitious international agreement to keep global warming below 1.5 degrees Celsius,

(iv) calls from civil society for Australia to commit at least $400 million per year to international climate finance that will allow developing countries to adapt to climate change and build the low carbon communities of the future, and

(v) That the Turnbull Government's pollution targets would keep Australia as the worst polluter per capita in the developed world by 2030; and

(b) calls on the Turnbull Government to:

(i) support a global agreement to stabilise global temperatures at 1.5 degrees by 2100,

(ii) raise Australia's weak and dangerous pollution reduction targets to meet this long term goal,

(iii) support a global moratorium on new coal mines, and

(iv) commit at least $400 million per year for four years to international climate finance.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (90% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Robert Simms SA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Richard Di Natale Victoria Absent
Australian Labor Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Joe Bullock WA No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Sam Dastyari NSW No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Sue Lines WA No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Nova Peris NT No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Joe Ludwig Queensland Absent
Jenny McAllister NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Ricky Muir Victoria Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party No
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President Absent
Bob Day SA Family First Party No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent No
Glenn Lazarus Queensland Independent No
John Madigan Victoria Independent No
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (40% turnout) 0 Yes 10 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Christopher Back WA No
Cory Bernardi SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Sean Edwards SA No
Jo Lindgren Queensland No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Dean Smith WA No
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
John Williams NSW No
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Nick Xenophon Team Absent
Dio Wang WA Palmer United Party No
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Absent
Totals (61% turnout) 9 Yes – 37 No