The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party Senator Ricky Muir, which means the motion was successful.

The motion asked that the funds currently set aside for the East West Link in Victoria be re-allocated. Read more on ABC News about why the East West Link hasn't gone ahead yet and doesn't look like it will for the foreseeable future.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) there is a political stalemate between the Federal Government and the Victorian State Government in relation to the East West Link,

(ii) there is approximately $1.5 billion in unspent allocations to the East West Link,

(iii) evidence presented to the Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport References Committee inquiry into aspects of road safety in Australia by the National Rural Health Alliance demonstrated that those who live outside the major cities make up 30 per cent of the population and 52 per cent of deaths due to land transport accidents,

(iv) rural roads play a vital role in putting food on city tables and bringing resources to urban areas,

(v) the annual economic cost of road crashes in Australia is enormous – estimated at $27 billion per annum – and the social impacts are devastating,

(vi) many rural roads are in dangerously poor condition and in desperate need of repair,

(vii) some local councils in Victoria do not have the necessary funding to fully maintain the extensive road networks in their electorate due to proposed rate caps and the federal freeze in financial assistance grants,

(viii) a life in rural and regional Australia is just as important as a life in urban Australia,

(ix) until there is a change of Victorian State Government or a change in Federal Government, a resolution to the East West Link is unlikely, and

(x) there is a strong need in Victoria to invest in rail and road infrastructure in order to ease congestion and improve productivity into the future; and

(b) calls on the Government to withdraw the allocation of federal funding set aside for East West Link and to reallocate this funding to projects to improve rural road infrastructure.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 10 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Scott Ludlam WA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Robert Simms SA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (79% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Joe Bullock WA No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Sam Dastyari NSW No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Sue Lines WA Absent
Nova Peris NT Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Ricky Muir Victoria Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party Yes
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President Absent
Bob Day SA Family First Party Yes
Glenn Lazarus Queensland Independent Yes
John Madigan Victoria Independent Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland Yes
James McGrath Queensland Yes
Liberal Party (80% turnout) 20 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Christopher Back WA Yes
Cory Bernardi SA Yes
Simon Birmingham SA Yes
David Bushby Tasmania Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Sean Edwards SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Bill Heffernan NSW Yes
David Johnston WA Yes
Jo Lindgren Queensland Yes
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
Marise Payne NSW Yes
Linda Reynolds WA Yes
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Yes
Anne Ruston SA Yes
Scott Ryan Victoria Yes
Zed Seselja ACT Yes
Dean Smith WA Yes
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria Yes
Fiona Nash NSW Yes
John Williams NSW Yes
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Nick Xenophon Team Absent
Dio Wang WA Palmer United Party Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Yes
Totals (82% turnout) 33 Yes – 29 No