The majority voted against Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party Senator Ricky Muir's motion on motor vehicle theft and export, which means that it was rejected.

Read Senator Muir's reasons for his motion.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) the National Motor Vehicle Theft Reduction Council estimates that 20 passenger and light commercial vehicles are stolen and exported from Australia each week,

(ii) there are media reports that indicate that there has also been a spike in unrecovered, stolen four wheel drive vehicles in recent years,

(iii) terror experts claim that these four wheel drive vehicles are exported to Turkey and then driven across the border into Syria for use as armoured vehicles by terrorist organisations, and

(iv) vehicle exporters are not required to provide a clean Personal Property Securities Register report prior to the vehicle leaving the country; and

(b) calls on the Government to:

(i) require all vehicle exporters to provide to the relevant authorities a clean Personal Property Securities Register report as a mandatory compliance component of the export process, and

(ii) direct the responsible authorities to further investigate this problem in the interests of national security.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 10 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Scott Ludlam WA No
Nick McKim Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Robert Simms SA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Australian Labor Party (63% turnout) 0 Yes 15 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Joe Bullock WA No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Sam Dastyari NSW No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Sue Lines WA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Nova Peris NT No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Alex Gallacher SA Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Ricky Muir Victoria Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party Yes
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President No
Bob Day SA Family First Party Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Yes
Glenn Lazarus Queensland Independent Yes
John Madigan Victoria Independent Yes
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Yes
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (32% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
Christopher Back WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Sean Edwards SA No
Jo Lindgren Queensland No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Anne Ruston SA Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (25% turnout) 0 Yes 1 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
John Williams NSW Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Nick Xenophon Team Absent
Dio Wang WA Palmer United Party Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania President No
Totals (61% turnout) 8 Yes – 38 No