The majority voted against a motion introduced by Independent Senator Glenn Lazarus in relation to coal seam gas mining.

Wording of the motion

That the Senate—

(a) notes that the people of Queensland have no legal right to stop mining companies from entering their land to mine coal seam gas (CSG);

(b) further notes that rural and regional communities across Queensland are being devastated by the impact of CSG mining, including loss of underground water, contamination of underground and surface water, health impacts, mental health issues, reduced quality of life, reduced land values and other forms of stress, trauma and suffering;

(c) acknowledges that the impact of CSG mining and the behaviour of resource companies in harassing, bullying and intimidating landholders is splintering families, dividing communities and creating personal and financial hardship;

(d) understands that the people affected by CSG mining have no fair and equitable legal recourse to address their concerns given the significant power imbalance between those affected and the mining companies;

(e) calls on the Government to urgently consider the establishment of a Resources Ombudsman and a CSG Mining Commissioner to address the issues being experienced by the people of Queensland and elsewhere across the country affected by CSG mining; and

(f) urges the Government to consider undertaking an urgent audit of the human impacts of CSG mining, and to establish support services and other forms of assistance, including medical assistance, for those affected by CSG mining.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 10 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Nick McKim Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Robert Simms SA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Australian Labor Party (54% turnout) 0 Yes 13 No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Katy Gallagher ACT No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Sue Lines WA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Jenny McAllister NSW No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Nova Peris NT No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Joe Bullock WA Absent
Doug Cameron NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Sam Dastyari NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Ricky Muir Victoria Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party Yes
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President Absent
Bob Day SA Family First Party Absent
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Yes
Glenn Lazarus Queensland Independent Yes
John Madigan Victoria Independent Absent
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (56% turnout) 0 Yes 14 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Sean Edwards SA No
David Fawcett SA No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
David Johnston WA No
Jo Lindgren Queensland No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Dean Smith WA No
Christopher Back WA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Linda Reynolds WA Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Arthur Sinodinos NSW Absent
National Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
John Williams NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Nick Xenophon Team Absent
Dio Wang WA Palmer United Party No
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Absent
Totals (63% turnout) 13 Yes – 35 No