That the Senate (a) notes that:

(i) a New South Wales parliamentary inquiry into the Environment Protection Authority found that the decision to build a $57 million cruise ship terminal at White Bay in Balmain, instead of at Barangaroo, was a ‘serious error’, and acknowledged the significant impact of fumes and the corresponding issues with noise and vibrations have had on the quality of life of the surrounding community,

(ii) the relocation of the cruise ship terminal to White Bay was opposed by the cruise ship industry, local councils and community groups alike,

(iii) since the White Bay facility opened in 2013 it has received many complaints from local residents concerned about the health impacts of the air and noise pollution associated with cruise ships,

(iv) the cruise ship industry is growing significantly and contributes to the Australian tourism industry and local jobs, and

(v) as a growing industry, the cruise ship industry must minimise its growing environmental impacts and remove the significant health risks that its high sulphur fuels currently pose; and

(b) calls on the Federal Government to work with state governments on a national plan that enables the cruise ship industry to:

(i) implement mandatory requirements that all new cruise ship terminals have ship-to-shore power,

(ii) implement the New South Wales parliamentary recommendations to install shore to shore power for ships when they are moored at White Bay, and for cruise ship operators to develop noise mitigation strategies, and

(iii) ensure that the maximum allowable sulphur content for all cruise ship fuels is reduced to 0.1 per cent in line with United States of America and European Union regulations.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 10 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Penny Wright SA Yes
Australian Labor Party (65% turnout) 0 Yes 15 No
Joe Bullock WA No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Sue Lines WA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Nova Peris NT No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Absent
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Sam Dastyari NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Lisa Singh Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Ricky Muir Victoria Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party No
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President No
Bob Day SA Family First Party No
Glenn Lazarus Queensland Independent Yes
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent No
John Madigan Victoria Independent No
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Absent
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (60% turnout) 0 Yes 15 No
Christopher Back WA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Sean Edwards SA No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Nick Xenophon SA Nick Xenophon Team Absent
Dio Wang WA Palmer United Party No
Stephen Parry Tasmania President No
Totals (72% turnout) 11 Yes – 43 No