Almost every senator was against the main idea of the bill (in parliamentary jargon, they voted against reading the bill a second time). This means that the bill has been rejected and won't be discussed any more.

Only Liberal Democratic Party Senator David Leyonhjelm, who had introduced the bill, voted in favour of it.

Main idea of the bill

The bill was introduced to reduce the Family Tax Benefit Part A payments by 20% of any income in excess of the ‘income free area’ until the payment reaches zero.

Currently, the reduction is capped at a particular base rate so families whose income is more than the 'income free area' but less than the 'higher income free area' all receive at least that base rate. As Senator Leyonhjelm explained, this means that "[t]he welfare payment for a family with one child remains at $2,204.60 whether their income is around $70,000 or $90,000".

Why is only one senator voting 'aye'?

Usually, at least two senators need to call for a division in order for a division to occur. In this case, the Acting Deputy President had thought that there were two senators voting 'aye' and only realised his mistake after the division was called.

Background to the bill

The 2014-15 Budget was designed to reduce government spending and start bringing the budget back to surplus. However, many of the measures proposed in the Budget have been very unpopular and have not passed through Parliament.

This bill is an attempt by Senator Leyonhjelm to contribute towards reducing the current budget deficit.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (90% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
Sarah Hanson-Young SA No
Scott Ludlam WA No
Christine Milne Tasmania No
Lee Rhiannon NSW No
Janet Rice Victoria No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Larissa Waters Queensland No
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania No
Penny Wright SA No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Absent
Australian Labor Party (71% turnout) 0 Yes 17 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Joe Bullock WA No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Sam Dastyari NSW No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Sue Lines WA No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Nova Peris NT No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Jacinta Collins Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Joe Ludwig Queensland Absent
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Ricky Muir Victoria Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party No
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President Absent
Bob Day SA Family First Party No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent No
John Madigan Victoria Independent No
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (36% turnout) 0 Yes 9 No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Sean Edwards SA No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Christopher Back WA Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
Zed Seselja ACT Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
John Williams NSW Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Nick Xenophon Team Absent
Palmer United Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Glenn Lazarus Queensland No
Dio Wang WA No
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Absent
Totals (61% turnout) 1 Yes – 45 No