The majority disagreed that the Government should ban super trawlers from Australian waters. Super trawlers include ships like the Abel Tasman, which was known as the FV Margiris.

Background to motion

Back in November 2012, the Labor Government imposed a two-year ban on super trawlers in response to opposition to the Abel Tasman. This temporary ban has now ended and a further temporary ban will end in April 2015.

In November this year, two Tasmanians travelled to Canberra to deliver a petition signed by 30,000 people that asked the Federal Government to permanently ban super trawlers. This motion takes up this request for a permanent ban.

Read more about the debate surrounding super trawlers and their impact on the sustainability of fisheries in this Background Briefing.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes:

(i) the report of the expert panel on a declared commercial fishing activity, Final (Small Pelagic Fishery) Declaration 2012, has been released,

(ii) the report found a super trawler would negatively impact on protected species such as seals, dolphins and sea birds, and

(iii) the statement by the Prime Minister (Mr Abbott) on 4 March 2014 that 'the super trawler is banned from Australian waters…it was banned with the support of members on this side of the House. It was banned; it will stay banned'; and

(b) calls on the Government to introduce legislation banning super trawlers from Australian waters.

Votes Not passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 10 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Penny Wright SA Yes
Australian Labor Party (67% turnout) 0 Yes 16 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania No
Joe Bullock WA No
Doug Cameron NSW No
Jacinta Collins Victoria No
Sam Dastyari NSW No
Alex Gallacher SA No
Chris Ketter Queensland No
Sue Lines WA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Deborah O'Neill NSW No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Lisa Singh Tasmania No
Anne Urquhart Tasmania No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Anne McEwen SA Absent
Nova Peris NT Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Ricky Muir Victoria Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party Yes
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President Absent
Bob Day SA Family First Party No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania Independent Yes
John Madigan Victoria Independent No
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (40% turnout) 0 Yes 10 No
Christopher Back WA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Sean Edwards SA No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Anne Ruston SA No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Cory Bernardi SA Absent
Simon Birmingham SA Absent
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Michaelia Cash WA Absent
Mathias Cormann WA Absent
David Fawcett SA Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Scott Ryan Victoria Absent
National Party (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
John Williams NSW No
Fiona Nash NSW Absent
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland Absent
Nick Xenophon SA Nick Xenophon Team Absent
Palmer United Party (0% turnout) Absent
Glenn Lazarus Queensland Absent
Dio Wang WA Absent
Stephen Parry Tasmania President Absent
Totals (59% turnout) 12 Yes – 33 No