This division relates to the Policy For a carbon price.

The same number of senators supported and opposed the idea of a review into the National Electricity Rules on how to set network prices. This means that the vote was unsuccessful because a majority didn't support it.

Why should there be a review?

Independent Senator Nick Xenophon had proposed having a review because electricity prices have more than doubled for average households over the past six years and network charges are the cause of about two thirds of this increase.

Liberal rebel

Liberal Senator Ian Macdonald crossed the floor to vote in favour of the idea of having a review (see What are "Rebel Voters"?).


This vote took place during the debate on whether the senators agreed with the main idea of the Clean Energy Legislation (Carbon Tax Repeal) Bill 2013 (No. 2) and related bills, which was to remove the carbon pricing mechanism. This is the second time the Coalition has introduced bills like these (the first time, the Senate refused to pass the bills).

The carbon price began on 1 July 2012 and is an emissions trading scheme that puts a price on carbon emissions. To begin with, the price of carbon is fixed by the mechanism but from 1 July 2015 the price will be set by the market. Before the 2013 election, the Labor Government had said that it would bring this forward to 1 July 2014.

The Coalition said the carbon price was a “carbon tax” and promised during the 2013 election to get rid of it.

Votes Not passed

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

  • Ian Macdonald voted Yes against the majority of the Liberal Party.
Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 10 Yes 0 No
Richard Di Natale Victoria Yes
Sarah Hanson-Young SA Yes
Scott Ludlam WA Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Lee Rhiannon NSW Yes
Janet Rice Victoria Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Larissa Waters Queensland Yes
Peter Whish-Wilson Tasmania Yes
Penny Wright SA Yes
Australian Labor Party (96% turnout) 23 Yes 0 No
Catryna Bilyk Tasmania Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Joe Bullock WA Yes
Doug Cameron NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Jacinta Collins Victoria Yes
Sam Dastyari NSW Yes
John Faulkner NSW Yes
Alex Gallacher SA Yes
Chris Ketter Queensland Yes
Sue Lines WA Yes
Joe Ludwig Queensland Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Deborah O'Neill NSW Yes
Nova Peris NT Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Lisa Singh Tasmania Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Anne Urquhart Tasmania Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Ricky Muir Victoria Australian Motoring Enthusiast Party No
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Madigan Victoria Democratic Labor Party Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Deputy President Yes
Bob Day SA Family First Party No
Nick Xenophon SA Independent Yes
David Leyonhjelm NSW Liberal Democratic Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Matthew Canavan Queensland No
James McGrath Queensland No
Liberal Party (96% turnout) 1 Yes 23 No
Ian Macdonald Queensland Yes
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Christopher Back WA No
Cory Bernardi SA No
Simon Birmingham SA No
David Bushby Tasmania No
Michaelia Cash WA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Mathias Cormann WA No
Sean Edwards SA No
David Fawcett SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
David Johnston WA No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Marise Payne NSW No
Linda Reynolds WA No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Anne Ruston SA No
Scott Ryan Victoria No
Zed Seselja ACT No
Arthur Sinodinos NSW No
Dean Smith WA No
George Brandis Queensland Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Bridget McKenzie Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Barry O'Sullivan Queensland No
John Williams NSW No
Nick Xenophon SA Nick Xenophon Team Absent
Palmer United Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Jacqui Lambie Tasmania No
Glenn Lazarus Queensland No
Dio Wang WA No
Stephen Parry Tasmania President No
Totals (97% turnout) 37 Yes – 37 No