The majority voted against a motion introduced by Australian Democrats Senator Natasha Stott Despoja. This means that it was unsuccessful. The motion was:

That the Senate-

(a) notes that:

(i)   March 2007 marks the one year anniversary of Mr David Hickssolitary confinement,

(ii)   in less than 7 days, Mr Hicks will be forced to front up to a military commission process that is a sham, and

(iii)   the date for Mr Hicks’ Federal Court of Australia case against the Australian Government’s inaction to protect a citizen abroad has been set for 17 May 2007;(Read more about Mr Hicks' case in the Federal Court on ABC's PM here. )

(b)   recognises the urgency for the Government to investigate reports that Mr Hicks was sedated forcibly before being told of the sworn charges against him; and

(c)   calls for independent health professionals to visit Guantanamo Bay immediately to assess, first hand, its conditions and the health of Mr Hicks.

One senator, Nationals Senator Barnaby Joyce, crossed the floor to vote 'aye' in favour of the motion.(Read more about crossing the floor in our FAQ section.)


Votes Not passed by a small majority

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

  • Barnaby Joyce voted Yes against the majority of the National Party.
Party Votes
Australian Democrats (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (85% turnout) 23 Yes 0 No
Mark Bishop WA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
George Campbell NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Stephen Conroy Victoria Yes
Trish Crossin NT Yes
Chris Evans WA Yes
John Faulkner NSW Yes
Michael Forshaw NSW Yes
Annette Hurley SA Yes
Steve Hutchins NSW Yes
Linda Kirk SA Yes
Joe Ludwig Queensland Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Robert Ray Victoria Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Ruth Webber WA Yes
Dana Wortley SA Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Absent
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President Yes
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Liberal Party (84% turnout) 0 Yes 27 No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
George Brandis Queensland No
Ian Campbell WA No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Helen Coonan NSW No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Chris Ellison WA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
Gary Humphries ACT No
David Johnston WA No
Rod Kemp Victoria No
Ross Lightfoot WA No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Santo Santoro Queensland No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Alan Ferguson SA Absent
Jeannie Ferris SA Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Amanda Vanstone SA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 1 Yes 4 No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Yes
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Sandy Macdonald NSW No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Paul Calvert Tasmania President No
Totals (87% turnout) 32 Yes – 34 No