The majority voted against a motion introduced by Australian Democrats Senator Lyn Allison, which means that it was unsuccessful. The motion was:

That the Senate:

(a) notes the recent polling conducted by the Australian Research Group on community attitudes to climate change solutions which found that:

(i) Australians want to embrace new, clean renewable energy technologies to deal with the challenge of climate change,

(ii) Australians support a future based on new renewable energy industries rather than a continuing reliance on coal or a move to nuclear power, and

(iii) the renewable options of more solar panels (91 per cent support) and more wind turbines (82 per cent support) were favoured alongside the proposal of reducing overall energy consumption (78 per cent support); and

(b) calls on the Government to introduce effective policies that will result in significant clean energy investment and greenhouse abatement through support for:

(i) the renewable energy market, by extending and expanding the existing Mandatory Renewable Energy Target, a renewable energy trading ‘green’ certificate scheme,

(ii) the increased deployment of solar power through dual market of continuing the photovoltaic rebate scheme and introducing a feed-in-tariff,

(iii) energy efficiency markets, by introducing a national energy efficiency target and an energy efficiency trading ‘white’ certificate scheme, and

(iv) a transition to clean energy, by introducing a carbon emissions target and carbon emissions trading ‘black’ certificate scheme.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Yes
Australian Greens (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Absent
Australian Labor Party (74% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
George Campbell NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Michael Forshaw NSW No
Annette Hurley SA No
Linda Kirk SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Robert Ray Victoria No
Nick Sherry Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Ruth Webber WA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Steve Hutchins NSW Absent
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Liberal Party (72% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Judith Adams WA No
Cory Bernardi SA No
George Brandis Queensland No
Ian Campbell WA No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Chris Ellison WA No
Alan Ferguson SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
David Johnston WA No
Rod Kemp Victoria No
Ross Lightfoot WA No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
Amanda Vanstone SA No
John Watson Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Guy Barnett Tasmania Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Jeannie Ferris SA Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Gary Humphries ACT Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Santo Santoro Queensland Absent
National Party (60% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Sandy Macdonald NSW No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President No
Totals (75% turnout) 7 Yes – 50 No