The majority voted against Labor Senator Kate Lundy's amendment, which means it was unsuccessful.

What does this mean?

Senator Lundy explained that her amendment:

"seeks to change the definition of a technological protection measure to ensure that TPMs, as they are known for the purposes of this bill, are linked to the protection from copyright infringement..."

"...I think it is in a pretty sneaky and unforgivable way that the Howard government has determined to remove the link between the use of TPMs and the protection of infringement of copyright in the definition of a TPM in a bill. The definition of a TPM proposed in this bill has the effect of giving corporations who own copyright the ability to use that power under the Copyright Act to protect business models—not copyright. No link to copyright protection will be required. I think this represents an anti-free-trade and anti-open-market position."

Wording of the amendment

The bill currently defines "access control technological protection measure" as:

1 Subsection 10(1)


access control technological protection measure means a device, product, technology or component (including a computer program) that:

(a) is used in Australia or a qualifying country:

(i) by, with the permission of, or on behalf of, the owner or the exclusive licensee of the copyright in a work or other subject-matter; and

(ii) in connection with the exercise of the copyright; and

This amendment would replace the above subparagraph (a)(ii) with:

(ii) prevents, inhibits or restricts the doing of an act comprised in copyright; and”

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Absent
Australian Greens (50% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Bob Brown Tasmania Absent
Christine Milne Tasmania Absent
Australian Labor Party (70% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Mark Bishop WA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Trish Crossin NT Yes
Chris Evans WA Yes
John Faulkner NSW Yes
Michael Forshaw NSW Yes
Linda Kirk SA Yes
Joe Ludwig Queensland Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Nick Sherry Tasmania Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Ruth Webber WA Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
George Campbell NSW Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Annette Hurley SA Absent
Steve Hutchins NSW Absent
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Absent
Robert Ray Victoria Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Dana Wortley SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President Yes
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Liberal Party (78% turnout) 0 Yes 25 No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
George Brandis Queensland No
Ian Campbell WA No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Chris Ellison WA No
Jeannie Ferris SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
Gary Humphries ACT No
David Johnston WA No
Rod Kemp Victoria No
Ross Lightfoot WA No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Nick Minchin SA No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Marise Payne NSW No
Santo Santoro Queensland No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Alan Ferguson SA Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Kay Patterson Victoria Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Amanda Vanstone SA Absent
National Party (60% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Sandy Macdonald NSW No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President Absent
Totals (72% turnout) 25 Yes – 30 No