The majority voted against a motion introduced by Australian Democrats Senator Lyn Allison.

This means that the motion was rejected.

The motion was:

That the Senate-

(a) notes that:

(i) in 2000, Germany introduced a solar scheme requiring electricity companies to buy back electricity generated from household panels connected to the grid at premium price rather than at the normal wholesale electricity rate,

(ii) the German scheme has meant approximately 400 000 households have now installed solar panels,

(iii) the German scheme has lead to a boom in the photovoltaic (PV) industry with revenues expected to be $25 billion in 2006, increasing to $100 billion by 2010,

(iv) Germany’s success with the scheme has led to Spain, Italy, France, Greece and Canada introducing almost identical schemes,

(v) in 2004, Germany passed a new law that guaranteed people who built solar parks a minimum price for each kilowatt of electricity that was two to three times the market price, for example, a German pig farmer struggling with drought took advantage of the scheme and covered his 200 acre farm with 10 050 solar panels, which at full capacity could supply power to all 7 000 residents of the local village resulting in the farmer making more than $600 000 a year from the sale of this electricity, and

(vi) California has developed the ‘ Million Solar Roofs’ plan that will provide 3 000 megawatts of additional solar generation by 2018 using a combination of regulatory and market mechanisms;

(b) notes that an Australia-wide feed-in tariff could increase the number of PV units in Australia from 10 000 to 150 000 by 2010; and

(c) calls on the Federal Government to work with state governments to introduce a solar scheme similar to that in Germany.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (78% turnout) 0 Yes 21 No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Trish Crossin NT No
Michael Forshaw NSW No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Linda Kirk SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Robert Ray Victoria No
Nick Sherry Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Ruth Webber WA No
Penny Wong SA No
Dana Wortley SA No
George Campbell NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Kate Lundy ACT Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Yes
Liberal Party (78% turnout) 0 Yes 25 No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
George Brandis Queensland No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Helen Coonan NSW No
Alan Ferguson SA No
Jeannie Ferris SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
Gary Humphries ACT No
David Johnston WA No
Rod Kemp Victoria No
Ross Lightfoot WA No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Santo Santoro Queensland No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
Amanda Vanstone SA No
John Watson Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Ian Campbell WA Absent
Alan Eggleston WA Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Stephen Parry Tasmania Absent
National Party (60% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Sandy Macdonald NSW Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President No
Totals (79% turnout) 8 Yes – 52 No